I’m excited to announce some big news! Thanks to a $150,000 grant from the Rita Allen Foundation, we’re working with two national higher education networks to bring TurboVote to 100 new college and university partners this year.

NASPA and AASCU Partner with TurboVote

Our partnership with two of the giants in higher education, the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) and the Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education (NASPA), will set a new standard for voter engagement in U.S. higher education. AASCU’s and NASPA’s support for our work sends an important message that democratic engagement should be a part of every student’s college experience. Check out the official press release about our partnership!

Keeping students engaged in EVERY election

This initiative could not have come at a better time. With midterm elections fast approaching, we are reminded of a key challenge in student voting: participation drops significantly in non-presidential years. While nearly two-thirds of college students voted in November 2012, only 27% did so in 2010. And turnout drops even lower in primary and municipal elections.

Studies suggest that these voting inconsistencies are tied to a lack of easy access to information. 66% of students who did not vote in 2010 missed the election for logistical reasons, according to a CIRCLE study. Some were away, some forgot. Only 12% reported that they missed the election because they were uninterested.

NASPA and AASCU have a proven record of promoting civic engagement in higher education, and their leadership will make it even easier for their member institutions to provide students with the materials and information they need to vote. This means that together, we can can increase—and maintain—voter participation on campus, even in midterms and local elections.

Supporting our growth

More than 90 schools have already signed on to be TurboVote partners in 2014. This puts us far ahead of where we were two years ago—at this point in 2012, only four schools were using TurboVote! Over 18 new institutions have already officially joined us through the NASPA and AASCU partnership alone.

It’s a lot of new growth, and we are expecting a lot more over the next six months. So I’m excited to introduce you to Adrienne Lever, who joined our team in January as Senior Director for Strategic Partnerships. She couldn’t have joined us at a better time—there’s nothing more valuable than getting powerful reinforcements as we prepare for our biggest year yet!

Help us reach more schools! Informational webinar tomorrow at 2pm!

We still have a lot of work to do to hit our goals and we need your help to spread the word. So please take a look at the list of TurboVote partners below. Do you know someone at an institution that is not yet using TurboVote? If so, please forward this email and invite them to join one of our informational webinars. These webinars are free and open to the public.

TurboVote Informational Webinar

Thursday, April 10, 2014 @ 2pm EDT OR Friday, April 25th, 2014 @ 2pm EDT

RSVP to partnerships@turbovote.org

With your help, we can ensure that students across the country participate in the elections this year and that institutions are supporting habits that will lead to life-long civic engagement.

Thank you for being a part of this effort! And happy voting!

The complete list of TurboVote Partner Campuses

Albright College
Alvernia University
American University
Arizona State University
Bates College
Bowdoin College
Centre College
Chatham University
Christopher Newport University
Colby College
Colgate College
College of the Holy Cross
College of William and Mary
Columbia University
Community College of Allegheny County
Dominican University of California
Eastern Michigan University
Elon University
Florida Atlantic University
Florida State College at Jacksonville
Fort Hays State University
Franklin College
Frostburg State University
Gallaudet University
George Mason University
Harvard University
Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Illinois State University
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
James Madison University
Juniata College
Kutztown University
Longwood University
Lynn University
Marygrove College
Mercer University
Miami Dade college
Michigan State University
Missouri State University
Norfolk State University
Northeastern Illinois University
Northern Kentucky University
Oakland University
Occidental College
Old Dominion University
Palm Beach State College
Polk State College
Pomona College
Radford University
Ramapo College
Roanoke College
Rollins College
Rowan University
Rutgers University
Saginaw Valley State University
Saint Anselm College
Santa Fe College
School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Seton Hall University
Simpson College
Stanford University
Stetson University
Tallahassee Community College
Texas A&M International University
Texas A&M University – Central Texas
The College at Brockport (SUNY)
Towson University
University of Akron
University of Arizona
University of Central Florida
University of Chicago
University of Denver
University of Florida
University of Kentucky
University of Mary Washington
University of Michigan – Dearborn
University of Nebraska at Kearney
University of Nebraska – Lincoln
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
University of North Florida
University of North Georgia
University of Puget Sound
University of Saint Joseph
University of Tennessee – Knoxville
University of Virginia
Vassar College
Virginia Commonwealth University
Virginia State University
Virginia Tech
Virginia Western Community College
Wake Technical Community College
Wartburg College
Wayne State University
William Paterson University