Jack Cashion is a Partnerships Associate at TurboVote and a rising senior at Harvard University. He dreams of writing a rock opera about voting.

One of my favorite things about going home is my garage band. During breaks from college, my hometown friends and I get together and write new songs for our band, Buck Wild.  We have performed twice for our friends at house parties. We’re not very good. It’s more about having fun and finding a way to spend time with each other. Every time we come back from college, it can feel like we have less and less in common, but Buck Wild has helped us stay friends years after we graduated high school.

Buck Wild-- coming to a polling place near you

We don’t often talk about politics. When we do, the conversation always ends with someone arguing that his vote doesn’t matter because one vote has never changed anything. I think it’s important to vote whenever I can, but it’s a hard point to argue against. As a result, most of my bandmates are not registered, even as they enter their senior year of college. The worst part is that it doesn’t bother them.

Despite all of this, I recently got TurboVote for Buck Wild. They care enough about politics to talk about it, and my hope was that if I could make it as convenient as possible for them to participate they might be persuaded to vote. I bought a group account from the TurboVote website, called them up, and sent them the link for their personal TurboVote account. Since my friends all check Facebook every day, I thought they might be able to take a minute and sign up to vote.  I was right! The service made it easy enough for these guys to get over their skepticism and register to vote. Maybe civic engagement, like music, can be something that keeps us from drifting apart, instead of just another thing we don’t have in common. It looks like Buck Wild just booked their third gig: live from a polling place near you.

